Pressemitteilung der
ZEIT Verlagsgruppe

11. September 2017

The New York Times awarded the Marion Doenhoff Prize 2017

The Promotion Prize goes to the citizens‘ movement Pulse of Europe. Frank-Walter Steinmeier and Annegret Kramp-Karrenbauer to hold the laudatory speeches.

This year the New York Times is to receive the Marion Doenhoff Prize for International Understanding and Reconciliation. The promotion prize goes to the non-partisan and independent citizens‘ movement Pulse of Europe. The awards are each endowed with 20,000 euros.

The jury has chosen the New York Times as the world’s most influential daily newspaper, which has been setting international standards in the design and development of quality journalism for decades. The jury based its decision on the New York Times being a beacon of reason and enlightenment in an era of “alternative facts” and allegations of “fake news”. As part of its “Project 2020”, the New York Times has invested five million dollars in new reporting jobs. In the first quarter of 2017, the newspaper recorded record growth of more than 300,000 digital subscriptions. Executive editor Dean Baquet will receive the award.

Matthias Naß, chairman of the jury and international correspondent for DIE ZEIT: “With its outstanding journalism, the New York Times sets an example far beyond the United States of America for the indispensable role of the media in a democratic society. Like no other newspaper, it opposes populism with its investigative strength and analytical clarity.” The laudatory speech in honour of the New York Times will be given by Federal President Frank-Walter Steinmeier.

As a non-partisan and independent citizens‘ movement, Pulse of Europe is attempting to keep alive the goal of a European community of values. “The initiative is committed to combating populism and nationalism, thereby giving courage to all those who see their future in a united, democratic Europe”, according to the jury. Annegret Kramp-Karrenbauer, Minister-President of Saarland, will present the promotion prize.

The prizewinners were selected by a jury that included Friedrich Dönhoff, Norbert Frei, Astrid Frohloff, Manfred Lahnstein, Matthias Naß, Janusz Reiter, Theo Sommer and Anne Will. Hundreds of readers responded once again to the appeal by DIE ZEIT and proposed numerous individuals and organisations who are committed to promoting international understanding and reconciliation in the spirit of Marion Dönhoff.

This year DIE ZEIT, the ZEIT Foundation Ebelin and Gerd Bucerius as well as the Marion Doenhoff Foundation are awarding the prize for the 15th time. The award ceremony will be held on 3 December 2017 at the Deutsches Schauspielhaus in Hamburg.